How are you holding up these days? Seems to me many of us are going through some tough times especially with all this snow we’ve been getting and the economy being in a slump. Or maybe you’ve picked up a few pounds since the holidays, or as in my case, you’ve got this annoying cough and headache that just won’t quit. Whatever it is, we’ve all got something that irritates us, don’t we?

I keep repeating to myself, “Patricia, this is a test. Don’t let the enemy catch you off guard. Keep your peace.” It’s like I want to run away and hibernate from the rest of world until spring comes. People are so grouchy these days.

Scripture says the “enemy prowls around like a roaring lion seeking whom to devour”(1Peter 5:8). We must be especially on guard when we’re feeling rough not to let our negative feelings cause us to react to others in a hurtful or retaliatory way. It is easy to love those who are kind, but the challenge is to love those who are unkind to us, right?

The enemy’s goal is to steal our joy and our peace because if we are not joyful and at peace, we cannot be a witness for the Lord. A simple test is to ask myself “Am I walking around with a frown on my face or a smile?” Today, let the joy of the Lord show in your face and remember “Greater is He that is in me, than he that is in the world.” (1 John 4:4)

Leave a Reply

