Are you feeling pressured today? Too much to do and not enough time or energy to do it all?

For many years of my life, I felt this way. As a single-parent, I needed to be very responsible, obediently doing what I needed to do, disciplining myself to do things when I didn’t “feel” like it, and following the rules.

As a single parent, I didn’t have the luxury of time or feeling “in the mood” to take care of all the responsibilities of raising two children single-handedly while working full-time at a demanding career and taking care of a home and a car. There was always something that needed to be done, and it mattered very little if I was tired, the weather was bad, or I didn’t feel like it. I’ve always lived by the old adage “Don’t put off till tomorrow what you can do today.”

Now that my children are grown and out of the house, I am seeing that not everyone has this approach to life.

As I contemplate what it means to live well, I’ve realized that being content means not having expectations of others, but also not having such demanding expectations of myself. What am I trying to prove? Nothing!

Now I am not advocating a lazy, do nothing approach to life. We are called to be responsible for ourselves so that we will not be a burden to others. Life is very busy for most of us. All I am saying is that for me at this stage in my life, I think it’s time to take a more relaxed approach and stop pressuring myself needlessly. The house will get cleaned, the bills will get paid, and I will go to the gym and exercise. I know this because I have developed disciplined habits over the years. So why do I get anxious when things start to pile up? Eventually, everything gets done. As it says in the book of Ecclesiastes, “there is a time and a place for everything under the sun.”

Where are you today? Are the pressures of life caving in on you?

Today, I will be content with myself and others. I will accept what the day brings me and not pressure myself or others. I will do what I have to do when I feel it is the right time to do it and trust that all will be taken care of in due time. How about you, beloved?

One thought on “Tyranny of Should

  1. I've read a couple of blogs today and yesterday about time and accepting limitations. Seems that's on a lot of peoples' minds. It is on mine. Good post to reinforce a much needed idea.

Leave a Reply

