This week I have been contemplating the issue of faith. I have been told I have a lot of faith. But do I really? When it comes down to the core issues and people in my life, how do I respond?

The Bible says each of us has been given a measure of faith (Rom 12:3). Like a muscle, though, we must exercise our faith for it to grow. In order to live well, it is important to learn to walk by faith and not by sight.

It seems I trust God when it comes to some things, but not in others. Perhaps I am spending too much energy trying to “do” things that please God and not enough time listening, trusting, and believing. I have worn myself out at different times in my life and I am beginning to understand how – by not trusting God to work in others and by trying to do too much in my own strength.

Rom 4:4 says “Abraham believed God and it was credited to him as righteousness.” In other words, God sees us as righteous, not because of all our good works, but because of our faith and trust in Him. While I may be thinking I am pleasing God, I am saddened to realize that this does not please God at all. Scripture says that all my good works are like filthy rags (Is.64:6)

From now on, I am going to listen to my sons when they tell me “Have a little faith, Ma!” and really take it to heart and stop trying so hard to make things happen. I am going to expect a positive outcome even when I don’t see it at the present moment. Faith is pulling the dreams of tomorrow into our today and that is exactly what I am going to do. How about you, beloved? Today will you have a little more faith?

Leave a Reply

