I was speaking with someone today who was telling me about their decision to stop drinking.
“What made you decide to stop?” I asked.
“I don’t know for sure. Something told me it was time. Why me and why then?” he pondered aloud.
“The Grace of God,” I suggested.
“I’m not religious, but it could be,” he replied.

Now the Grace of God is defined as “God’s unmerited favor towards us.” It’s not something we earn or deserve. I know in my life God’s grace has been plentiful. I probably would not still be on this earth after everything I’ve been through had it not been for God’s grace and mercy. Having faith and praying is one thing, but unless God steps in to intervene, things are not going to change.

God is not some mean ogre sitting up in the sky looking to torment us. On the contrary, God is a loving, merciful, and forgiving Father who only wants the best for his children – and sometimes the best thing, as we who are parents know, is discipline. Hebrews 12:4-10 talks about how fathers correct their children, so God disciplines the sons and daughters He loves and that we will be made righteous through God’s discipline.

So today, take heart when you go through various trials and tribulations. Know that God has your best in mind and give Him thanks for His great Grace in YOUR life!

Leave a Reply

