Sometimes I think about things way too much. Part of that comes from my job as a software engineer where all I do all day is analyze; trying to figure out why something is happening in the computer software. I get paid to do that.

Analyzing things for work is fine, but overthinking things on a personal level is not healthy for the mind or the body. Constant thinking means that I’m never giving my mind a break. Our minds need breaks too, just like our bodies.

I need to start paying more attention to what is going on in my mind. Decide to only think about a certain subject for a period of time, and then give it to God. Trust that I don’t need to figure everything out. Not only do I try to figure out things for today, I try to figure out things in the future. So where do you draw the line between planning for the future and overanalyzing? Anybody out there have any suggestions on this?

The first step to changing a thought pattern is to recognize it. What thought patterns do you have that might need changing? Doesn’t it all boil down to trusting God more and ourselves less? I believe that’s what Proverbs 3:5 is all about when it says “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” I think so and it’s very humbling for sure.

Leave a Reply

