Growing up in a dysfunctional, alcoholic home, I was told I was “too sensitive” and not allowed to feel my feelings. I learned to ignore my feelings and emotions, as well as that “inner knowing” we all have. No wonder I stayed in an unhappy painful marriage for 15 years.

Sad to say it has taken many painful relationships for me to realize I need to pay attention to my feelings:listen to them because they are trying to tell me something– something important. And once I begin to listen to myself, realize what I am feeling, the next step is getting it out.

Getting it out means telling someone who will listen. That is why a suppport group of friends is so very important. Everybody needs someone who will listen to them.

Yesterday, I was feeling very down about a couple of personal concerns. First, I expressed one of my concerns to my youngest son. He listened but did not empathize. I still felt badly. Next, I shared with the oldest. He was very empathetic and supportive. I felt somewhat better. Then, I met with a group of friends and shared with them on another issue. By the end of the evening, I was feeling energized and joyful once again. I was motivated to take action on one issue.

Bottled up feelings and emotions steal your energy. What do you need to get out, dear one? Find a good friend you can trust, and share your heart. Then, notice how you feel. While you’re at it, practice listening to your friends. After all, isn’t that what friends are for?

Leave a Reply

