While I was riding on the trail by my house this weekend, it occured to me that life is like a bike ride. Some people are walking, some jogging, some strolling with their kids and dogs. Some racing along on their bikes. Although we were all on the same path, everyone was going at their own speed. Isn’t that how life is? We are all on a path and all going at different speeds.

There are bumps along the trail and in some parts it’s hard to see clearly because of the shadows. So too like life. As I pedalled my bike, I remembered a friend telling me I shouldn’t have to work too hard to move forward. I decided that should be true in life as well. I shouldn’t have to struggle so much. Put effort yes, but not struggle so much. Most of my life has been a struggle and I’m not quite sure why that is, but I don’t think it was meant to be that way at all.

On my nice bike, I set my gears at a comfortable speed and then just go. I love the feel of the breeze on my face and the smell of the trees along the way. I stop to admire the calmness of the river flowing to my left. Life is like a river too, isn’t it? Flowing, sometimes over rocks, sometimes not.

At the end of my ride, I felt good. I had reached my goal of 12 miles and made it back safe and sound. I had exercised my body and rejuvenated my spirit from the quiet solitude of a bike ride. Life is like a bike ride in many ways. I am learning to enjoy the ride. How about you?

Leave a Reply

