There is great power in the words we speak. A few words can make or break someone’s day. People, especially our loved ones, really take to heart what is spoken to them. You can tell by a person’s demeanor when their feelings get hurt.

The other day, I made a comment about people who are unable to make long-term commitments and how that might relate to maintaining a relationship. I was speaking in general, but one of my good friends was in the car and she took it personally and said she felt accused. Wow! I apologized immediately and explained I was speaking in general. She happened to be dealing with a decision at the time, so the issue was particularly sensitive to her.

What I am trying to say is that it is so important to really keep a guard over our mouths and be disciplined in our speech. I guess it would help if we thought about who it is that is listening and how they might take it. But, boy, now that is a lot of effort isn’t it? Let me know your thoughts on speaking and the power of words. Have you had any situations that caused you to want to take back what you said?

Leave a Reply

