November is here and it is the month of Thanksgiving. I love this month for several reasons: it is my birthday month,the trees are so beautiful, and I love celebrating Thanksgiving.

I like to dedicate the entire month to focusing on gratitude. A tradition I started at my house many years ago was to put out a small basket with a pad of paper and a pen next to it. The basket is known as the “Blessing Basket”. Each day each member of the household and whoever comes into the home is to write down one thing for which they are grateful for and put it in the basket. It can be anything, but the idea is to focus on the many blessings in our lives. Then on Thanksgiving Day, we read all the slips of paper. They are anonymous of course, but it really makes us realize how much we have been given.

I know I have much to be thankful for: a lovely home, two wonderful sons, a good job, restored health, and good friends. I am also thankful for the intangibles in my life: the fact that I have an intimate relationship with Jesus and the fact that I have been given so many gifts such as love, joy, patience, kindness, and faith.

What do you have to be thankful for, dear one? Start each day giving thanks. Learn to develop an “attitude of gratitude” and you will see how your outlook on life changes. So when your next challenge comes up, perhaps you can look at it from a new perspective.

Leave a Reply

