Now that another birthday has come and gone, I am more aware of how my past has shaped me into the person I have become. I realize that I am not only on a journey to faith, but also on a journey to healing. Neither path has been particularly easy unfortunately. But I am bound and determined to be as healthy as I can be and to help others on their journey as well.

I would dare venture to say that many of us have had unhappy, painful experiences in our past. In my case, I grew up in a dysfunctional home with an abusive alcoholic father. I learned many unhealthy ways of coping as a child which I have carried into my adult life. Slowly, I am learning to reprogram my thinking as I become more aware of the unconscious thoughts that cause me to react in a certain way.

During this month, I am choosing to be thankful for my past, my parents, and all those who have hurt me in some way. They have all been teachers sent to heal my soul and to teach me better ways of thinking and living.

I know this post is a bit deeper than most, but this is what has been on my mind today. As you reflect on your past, is there any unforgiveness, bitterness, or anger? If so, I encourage you this season to feel those feelings and then let them go. Replace them with the positive energies of love and forgiveness and then choose to be thankful for where you are today. “God works all things for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.” (Rom. 8:28)

Leave a Reply

