We all have our to do lists. Things we need to get done, things we want to do, things we hope we can get to. We are all so very busy all the time. But are we really working on what is most important?

Today, I’d like to pause so we can all think about that question for a few minutes. What is really most important in my life? Is it my friends? My job? My kids? My finances? My relationships?

Or could it be none of these? Now, I’m not suggesting that these concerns are not important and that we should shirk our responsibilities. But what I am saying is that maybe, just maybe there is something more important above and beyond anything else.

Our relationship to God. As well-known Christian author and speaker Joyce Meyer says, to paraphrase, “Put God first and everything else will fall into place.” She is so right on!

When we give God the back seat in our lives, that means that something or someone else has the front seat and nothing or no one should take His rightful place in our lives.

Sure we go to church, give our tithes, and attend bible studies. All of these are fine and dandy, but what really matters is am I developing a relationship with God? Put another way ask yourself the question “Am I spending time with God?”

Next time I’ll talk about concrete suggestions on how to do this as it truly is the most important thing in life, whether we realize it or not. Until then, think about what makes a good relationship work and then apply it!

Leave a Reply

