Each day, I have choices to make; choices that will either bring peace or strife into my life. What will I allow in my life today? Will I respond or react to stressful situations and people ?I have a responsibility to live a life of peace. I am responsible. I cannot blame others for the stress and turmoil. It is how I choose to deal with issues.

It seems that God is trying to teach me yet another lesson: how to handle my loved ones when they are stressed.

This week, a loved one came by and I was determined not to react to this person for any reason. I could feel the arrows of the evil one being shot at me one after the other. Sometimes the enemy uses even our loved ones to get to us, and we are not even aware of it. I said out loud “I am going to stay calm. I am not going to react to you.” It was like the enemy was goading me on, or perhaps God was testing me.

Yet, I stood firm. I mustered all the courage I could and responded in a calm, but stern voice. “You are upset about something and that is something you need to deal with instead of taking it out on me. I am not doing anything.” Now, you must know, that this was not my usual response. Normally, I play the victim role and then feel false guilt for “making the other person mad.”

We are each responsible for our emotions; someone cannot “make us mad”.

Today’s scripture reading was this “Therefore dear brothers and sisters, you have no obligation to do what your sinful nature urges you to do. For if you live by its dictates, you will die. But if by the power of the Holy Spirit you put to death the deeds of your sinful nature, you will live. For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God.” (Romans 8:12-14)

Will you choose to react or respond today? If you want more peace and less strife in your life, I encourage you to let the Holy Spirit guide you,and as it says in James, “Be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.” Until next time, peace!

Leave a Reply

