I’ll bet if you are like me, you would like to have more faith to overcome the situations and challenges that we all face in life. Trials are an inevitable part of life and I don’t think they are ever going to stop coming our way as long as we are here on this earth, do you?

That being said, how can we have more faith to deal with these trials? I would suggest the first step is taking a different view of the challenges we face. Instead of looking at them from a negative viewpoint, we can choose to think of them as “opportunities”.

Opportunities you say? Give me a break. Yes, opportunities. It’s called reframing; looking at something in a different light. Try looking at it this way: trials are opportunities to grow our faith. Now, doesn’t that feel a little bit easier to swallow?

When we take the negativity out of the challenges of life, it takes the sting out them as well. Now, I am not being a pollyanna and denying that pain, hurt, and grief often accompany trials, but I am saying if we choose (and notice I said “choose”) to look at them from a different perspective, perhaps we will be more likely to look for some positive outcome and that, my friends, is called faith.

So, the next time a trial comes your way, pause a moment before reacting negatively to say to yourself “I am going to trust God to work this out for my good.” Then maybe we can work up to asking ourselves “What could I possibly learn from this?”

If you want more faith, it begins with how you look at the challenges in your life.

Leave a Reply

