When the going gets tough, what do we tend to do? I know what I tend to do- do more! I seem to think that by doing more, thinking more, giving more, I will make something happen. Then I wear myself out and end up exhausted. Now is that silly, or what?

When the going gets tough, that is precisely the time to take a step back and relax. Listen to that still small voice. Psalm 46:1 says “Be still and know that I am God”. God doesn’t want me wearing myself out. He wants me to be peaceful and trust Him. I received a mug this past weekend with one word on it “TRUST”. Now was that a message or what?

What does it mean to be still? It means to make time for solitude, prayer and meditation. It may even mean fasting for a while till my head gets clear and I can focus on what God’s will is for my life. Getting rid of all the distractions of this world and listening.

So, the next time the world starts caving in on you, I encourage you to make time to be still. Go for a walk in the woods, work in your garden, or do whatever to clear your mind and hear the voice of the Lord. He is still speaking to us today, but we must tune out the clamor of everything and everyone else if we are to truly hear His voice amidst the many other voices that vye for our attention. Until next time, be still and know!

One thought on “Be Still and Know

  1. Hi Ariel, Great post and soooooo true! It's not by works, but by faith that we can do anything. I find it helpful to be prayed up and ready because just like my laundry pile, I know another trial is always just around the corner. It's simply a part of being His child and in training.

Leave a Reply

