What is it that you have been waiting for? A spouse, a job, a new house, to have a baby perhaps? Most people are waiting for something. As I explained to my youngest, who has been job hunting for several months, waiting is a big part of life. The key is to learn how to wait.

Over the years, I have realized there are a few techniques that help during my periods of waiting and I thought I would share them with you today.

The first technique is to wait in FAITH. In other words, to have faith that what I am waiting for is going to come my way eventually. This is a requirement to receiving. If I doubt or have a negative attitude, I slow down and pretty much cancel the flow of good things into my life.

Secondly, and I know this might seem counter-intuitive, but it is true, I must learn to SURRENDER the desire for whatever it is I am waiting for. When we want something we tend to think or talk about it constantly. This is known as obsessing and is NOT conducive to receiving either.

For example, if I am waiting for a boyfriend, let’s say. And every time I go out, I size up every male that walks by and worry about how I look. This behavior falls into the obsessing category. I know many women who do this. Their entire conversation consists of talking about this or that guy. By surrendering my desires, I am saying, in effect, “Lord, I trust that you know what is best for me. I trust you to bring good things into my life in Your perfect timing and I will be content in the meantime and happy with what I have in my life today.”

Thirdly, while I am waiting, I need to SERVE others in some way, shape or form. I can’t just sit back and bemoan my state. This is not pleasing to God. God does not like complainers or whiners, as evidenced by the Israelites who never made it to the Promised Land because of their griping. I must get out there and do something of service to help other people. To paraphrase Christian author and speaker Joyce Meyer, “If I help someone get what they want, God will make sure I get what I want”.

So dear reader, I hope these techniques give you some ideas on how to wait and still enjoy your life. Write and share with me what you are waiting for and what you are doing while you are waiting. In the meantime, keep looking up!

Leave a Reply

