You’ve heard the phrase “When the student is ready, the teacher will appear” haven’t you?

About a month ago, I had a very stressful situation at work. I’m sure you can relate. My boss and I were just not on the same page and it was a difficult time.

As I pondered the situation, I realized that the incident had resuscitated some old anxieties I thought were long overcome. As I talk about in my new book, “The Power of Faith”, one of the steps to faith is facing our fears. I realized I still had some insecurities about rejection and pleasing that needed to be dealt with.

It is odd how some of our fears from childhood can still rear their ugly heads when a situation in the present in some way, shape, or form reminds us of something that happened long ago. It is like our minds have no concept of time.

Now I don’t want to get too deep on you here, but this is what I’m thinking. Our minds are like computer memory chips – they get imprinted with all sorts of errors and then have to be reprogrammed. When we have these over-reactions to current day situations, that is a sign that there is an issue that needs to be addressed. Buddhist philosophy calls these imprints in our subconscious minds “samskaras” which color many facets of our lives.

Scripture tells us to be “transformed daily by the renewing of our minds” (Romans 12:2). It is only by replacing error with truth that we can be truly healed and move forward in life away from our fears and towards our dreams.

What fears or anxieties do you still have? What caused them in the first place? Next time I’ll talk about what to do to handle these fears. Until next time, keep the faith!

Leave a Reply

