Babylon represents all the glitz, glamour, and glory this world has to offer. In Babylon, everything was big. Their army was big and feared among the nations.

What is it you are facing today that seems insurmountable? What dream has yet to materialize? What illness yet to be resolved? Is it a financial worry or perhaps a relationship gone sour?

God has placed dreams in all of us. We dream of “the good life”, but what exactly is “the good life”? A bigger house? A fancier car? Taking that dream vacation or finding the love of our life? Some dream of reaching the top of the corporate ladder. Others reach for the pinnacle of success, stardom, and fame.

As I spent time in reflection this past Lenten season, I asked myself these questions:

1. Have I, too, strayed from the Holy One who alone can satisfy the desires of my heart?

2. Has my focus shifted to the wrong priorities?

3. Have I depended too long on my own strength and wisdom instead of the power of God?

4. Am I willing to endure “unfair” circumstances and what could be perceived as the “wrath” of God?

Sadly, I must confess the answer that came was yes and once again I was humbled at the foot of the cross. The verses of scripture I have memorized over the years filled my mind like pools of refreshment.

“My grace is sufficient unto thee,” (2 Cor 12::9)

“It is not by might, nor by power, but by my Spirit sayeth the Lord” (Zech 4:6)

Despite my best efforts to downsize, declutter, and reprioritize, Jesus is still calling me to come unto Him. Matt 11:28 was my memory verse all last year. Jesus says to us these words in the New Testament: “Come to me all who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest.”

When our dreams go up in a puff of smoke, the illness yet undiagnosed, and the relationship we coveted lost, let the words of the Psalmist comfort you as they comfort me. “Be not downcast, oh my soul” ( Ps. 43:5). In times of difficulty we are to put our hope and our trust in God alone. He alone is our fortress and strong tower. The righteous run into it and they are saved.

No matter how many times we get off course, the Good Shepherd is faithful to rein us in like the lost sheep of Israel. He desires that none perish but that we all have life and have it to the full. Our God never keeps score. I serve a God of second, third, and fourth chances and for that I give him my life and my devotion.

Who are you serving these days, dear one? What god are you worshipping? “Lean not on your own understanding but in all ways acknowledge Him, and He shall make all your paths straight.” (prov. 3:5-6).  Whatever is off course, whatever is lost, whatever is still a mystery, trust God. He is faithful. He is merciful and He is still on our side.

Until next time, keep moving forward on your journey to faith and as always, keep looking up!

 

 
One thought on “Has Babylon Overtaken You?

  1. What is the good life? How does one define it in their daily life? So what is God?

    He is a loving God. God showed his love by the crucification of his son – Jesus, to help us free ourselves from sin. We all sin in thought, word and deed. Hence we can strive to rid ourselves of sin but we are all sinners. However, those that feel the power of God's love are very lucky as we try to free ourselves from sin. Usually love starts when you are growing up with your family and good friends.. So those that worship other God's generally do not find lasting peace because they do not feel God's love (even though God loves them).

    We show our love by how we interact with other people and how we lead our lives. Those that give freely of their time, talents and treasury are showing their love to mankind. Hence giving is one of the best ways to show your love for others. If we follow Jesus's second commandment from Matthew 40 you should love your neighbor as your self, we would all lead better lives.

    So what is love: 1 Corinthians13: 4-7 Love is Patient; Love is kind and envies no one. Love is never boastful, nor conceited, nor rude; never jealous, not quick to take offence; Love keeps no scores of wrongs; does not gloat over men's sins, but delights in the truth. There is nothing that love cannot face; there is no time limit to its faith, its hope and it endurance.

    Hence as we journey daily with our faith we should consider how we give and receive love. Love helps us to grow and gives us hope and conquers our fears.

Leave a Reply

